Pop Culture Awareness: The Goonies

goonies_image_1

The advice I got going into this movie was to imagine watching it at 10 years old. So, I channeled my 10-year-old self: the skinny, happy girl who carried her pink Barbie suitcase to sleepovers, played Skip It on the driveway, and rode a white Doodles bike with flowers painted on it.

You know what I think of it? It’s terrifying! The freezer scene and the creepy Fratellis would’ve scared me silly as a 10-year-old. Jeez, at 26 I was squirming and squealing at times.

Past the terror, the movie was delightful. It’s magical, whimsical, and downright funny. I also can’t be the only one who thinks this would be an awesome theme park ride. Wait, they don’t have one, do they?!

Lastly, if I were to have a “fantasy,” it might include being in a watery cave, a strand of pearls around my neck, and embraced in a passionate kiss. C’mon, you know you were thinking that, too.

The Goonies: check. Next up: Pulp Fiction.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

