Things I’ve Learned in 2012

Before the whirlwind we call “Christmas” begins, I decided to reflect on this year. It’s always been something I like to do. I enjoy thinking on the things I did right, the things I did wrong, the good, the bad,…you get the idea.

  1. You can run from crazy, even break up with it, but you can’t hide from it…unless you change your number.
  2. There is no happiness guarantee with making more money. In fact, making more money might make you less happy.
  3. Gluten is not my friend.
  4. “It’s better to feel pain than nothing at all. The opposite of love’s indifference.” –The Lumineers
  5. Make every effort to keep your family ties strong. When you’re old and need help, they might be the only ones by your side.
  6. Sometimes “To be continued…” sucks, and it hurts, and it doesn’t seem worth it. BUT, you never know what the next season will bring. “To be continued…” is sometimes better than “The End.”
  7. Forgiving and forgetting don’t always go hand in hand. Sometimes you can forgive but you just can’t forget. It won’t be the same as it was, and that’s ok.
  8. The best thing that could ever happen to you might be right around the corner.
  9. It is incredibly hard to find wet cement.
  10. There is great joy in not caring so much about what others think. Taking time to be a little silly, appreciating small things, and sometimes acting like a kid softens the edges of this incredibly hard life.

In addition to a few things I’ve learned this year, here’s a quick recap of what I read. I just recently watched The Jane Austen Book Club and decided to read each of her’s in chronological order starting in January. Sense and Sensibility is next on the list!

  1. Killing Lincoln by Bill O’Reilly-Great fiction-like non-fiction. Does that make sense? I learned so much, but felt like I was reading a novel. killing-lincoln
  2. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson-The book is better than the movie. Very dark and suspenseful
  3. untitledThe Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins-It’s been years since I stayed up until midnight for nights in a row because I was so hooked on a story. This was my favorite of the series.The Hunger Games
  4. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins-Very interesting and I can’t wait to see the movie they make for this book. CatchingFire_cvr
  5. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins-One word: weird. It seemed like it dragged the story on a bit too long. This was my least favorite of the series.Mockingjay
  6. The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein-If you’re looking for a sweet, pick-me-up kind of book, this is the one for you. Also, I will never look at a dog the same way again.arr_pb_hires
  7. A Painted House by John Grisham-I raided my dad’s bookshelf one day and this seemed interesting. It’s very different from most of Grisham’s novels. It was well written, but didn’t have enough of a “story” to make me feel complete at the end.258
  8. Skipping Christmas by John Grisham-Great short read, especially at this time of year.skipping-christmas
  9. The Lucky One by Nicholas Sparks-Lovely and romantic with lots of great quotes about life. Don’t bother with the movie, or at least read the book first. 9780446698344_1681x2544
  10. Fifty Shades of Grey by EL James-I admit it, I read it. All the hype drew me in. I’ll just say this: S&M isn’t for me, and it took me much longer to finish than Anastasia.Fifty-Shades-of-Grey

Well, I guess life got busy after that and I haven’t read anything since. Killing Kennedy is on my list for next year, along with the Austen novels. Coming soon are my goals for 2013…

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

